Home > APRLC > PNG announce new National Women’s Premiership competition

PNG announce new National Women’s Premiership competition

The Papua New Guinea Rugby Football League (PNGRFL) has this week announced that it will be introducing Women’s National Club competition later this year.

The new PNG National Women’s Premiership Challenge will involve four teams initially and will run concurrently with the Men’s National Rugby League competition, the Digicel Cup.

Kicking off on August 15, each team will play each other twice before the Premiership Grand Final.

The new competition is designed as a elite pathway programme to promote and develop the women’s game in PNG.

The four teams for the inaugural 2021 challenge will be selected at the respective Confederate Championships.

You may also like
Flawless Knights dominate Bulls in Women’s Country Championships Grand Final
Pacific Storm and USP Ruggers set to make Port Vila debut
Riverina Bulls bank on stars to help defend title in Grand Final
Ampol Women’s State of Origin to return to the Sunshine Coast