Home > Australia > Kiwis name team for Perth Test

Kiwis name team for Perth Test

New head coach David Kidwell has selected his first NZ Kiwis team, including seven changes from side that faced Australia in the Downer Trans-Tasman Test in May.

The starting line-up includes two players making their debuts for New Zealand, Solomone Kata and Jordan Rapana.

Seventeen-test veteran Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Kiwi #755) makes his return to the international arena, last wearing the black-and-white jersey at the 2013 World Cup. Re-joining him in the front row is the most-capped player in the side, Issac Luke (Kiwi #749), playing his 37th test match.

Jesse Bromwich (Kiwi #775) captains the team, supported by two other Melbourne Storm players who featured in the NRL Grand Final, Kevin Proctor (Kiwi #771) and Tohu Harris (Kiwi #778).

The 2016 joint Dally M medallist and RLPA Player of the Year Jason Taumalolo (Kiwi #786) starts at loose forward.

Adding experience in the spine is Thomas Leuluai (Kiwi #704), who first played for the Kiwis back in 2003. He will pair up with his NZ Warriors team-mate Shaun Johnson (Kiwi #774) in the halves.

Kiwis team to face Australia
1 Jordan Kahu
2 Jason Nightingale
3 Solomone Kata
4 Shaun Kenny-Dowall
5 Jordan Rapana
6 Thomas Leuluai
7 Shaun Johnson
8 Jesse Bromwich (c)
9 Issac Luke
10 Jared Waerea-Hargreaves
11 Kevin Proctor
12 Tohu Harris
13 Jason Taumalolo

14 Lewis Brown
15 Martin Taupau
16 Manu Ma’u
17 Adam Blair
18 Joseph Tapine
19 Gerard Beale

You may also like
Cook sizzles as new-look Kangaroos romp to big win over Kiwis
Jillaroos bounce back from Nines defeat to thump Kiwi Ferns
Jillaroos squad named for Kiwi Ferns Test
Wollongong to host Trans-Tasman Double Header